Continuing in the Department
If your contract, studentship, or visit is extended, your access to IT facilities will normally be extended automatically. However, if there is any break – for instance a delay in the completion of paperwork – you may temporarily lose access to some systems. See our information on eligibility for accounts for who to contact to confirm continuation of your role or status.
If you change from one status to another (for example from a student to a staff member), this should automatically be dealt with aside from a few caveats:
- Users arriving early to do a PhD who start as visitor or staff member, need to re-register as a PhD student
- Users changing from undergraduate to PhD student need to re-register.
- Users on a CDT course, who have successfully completed their MRes degree, and are continuing to do a PhD at Engineering need to re-register.
Leaving the Department
Your Engineering Department IT accounts will usually be closed 1-2 months after your role/status in the Department has finished, and you will normally receive a message warning you of the closure 2-4 weeks before it happens. If you need to keep your access to Departmental systems beyond that time, for example to tidy up accounts or to arrange a move to a new role, then it may be possible to arrange a one-off extension of 1-2 months via the IT Helpdesk.
If you will be leaving the University as well as the Department, you must also obtain an extension of your UIS accounts. Once you have received an account closure warning message from the UIS you can apple for an extension via https://help.uis.cam.ac.uk/request/extension. Please note it is not possible to extend Engineering accounts if your UIS accounts are closed.
Further extension beyond this is only possible if you have a continuing role or status in the Department that can be confirmed by the relevant administrative office – see our information on eligibility for accounts.
Users who are continuing work of academic value that requires Departmental computing facilities can ask their academic host to apply for a collaborator account for them. Collaborator accounts last for year at a time, after which they are either terminated, or can be renewed at the request of the host.